Question and Answers

As a parent looking for someone other than yourself to take care of your children is a very daunting experience some times.  You usually have a hundred and one questions and can sometimes be leery at the honesty behind the answers.

I hope to address as many as I can think of here, to save you the trouble of asking me later.  This will help you determine if I am someone you wish to contact and take the next step.

What are your hours:
Monday to Friday, 7 am until 6 pm.
(Special arrangements can be discussed)

Do you take children over school holidays and PA Days:
Yes.  I am only unavailable Dec. 25th and 26th, and Jan. 1st.
(Notice will be given should I need any other days off during holidays.)

What is the age range?
1 year and up.

Do you offer meals/snacks?
Yes.  If your child is an early morning drop off, I will provide them with breakfast. 
I supply lunch and 2 snacks as well during a full day.
After school I provide a snack.

Do you offer after school homework time?
Yes.  After school we have our homework club where the children are able to sit down for 20 minutes to a half hour to work on their homework.  This way it saves you the parent some time when you get home with them.
(Note, it is a suggestion that they do this, but they will not be forced.)

Do you go outside all year?  Or only in warmer weather?
We go outside all year, as long as it's not too cold or too hot that it would be a danger to anyone. 

Do you have CPR?
I am in the process.

Do you have a police check?
My old one expired, so I am getting it redone.

Do you have any special trainings or courses that regards children?
I am trained in the Plan to Protect Curriculum.

How many years have you been doing daycare?
As a home daycare provider, I have been doing this for 2 and a half years.

Do you have previous child care experience in any area?
Yes.  I have been a full time nanny over the summer a few years back.  I have an extensive family and have done a lot of babysitting since I was 14.  I have worked in the church nursery for many years.  One of my very first jobs was after school at a daycare facility in Oshawa. 

Are you allergy aware?
My youngest was recently diagnosed with a peanut allergy, as well as one of the younger children in my car is allergic to both dairy and peanuts.  Everything is checked and monitored. 
(If your child requires a special diet due to allergies, you will be expected to provide their meals and snacks.)

What types of activities do you do?

In the summer, most of our time is spent in my yard or at the park.  We often times eat our lunch outside, bring our crafts outside, play games like Red Rover.  We have done scavenger hunts, obstacle courses, lots of tag and hide and seek.  We've even played house outside (where I am usually made to be one of the children, and one of the children pretends to be every one's mom!).

What types of snacks do you provide?
Fresh fruit/vegetables
Cheese and Crackers
Home baked goodies
Fruit cups
Cereal (yes, children do like this as a snack from time to time)
Granola bars
Finger sandwiches
Popcorn (air popped)

This list is not extensive, simply meant to give an idea.  I am always open and looking for fun snack/meal ideas and would love to hear any suggestions you may have.

If there is a question you do have that I did not answer here, please feel free to contact me so I can answer it for you.  I can then update this page as well.